I had to use the snow blower this afternoon to remove about five inches of snow from my driveway. The  melted snow is freezing on side roads as I write. And while I don’t see any more snow in the forecast, I want to talk about events in warmer climes.

new-orleans-345

NOLA.com confirmed it tonight. The Uptown Mardi Gras Indians, weather permitting, will process this Sunday, March 15th.  It is one of the most unique and colorful spectacles I have ever witnessed and we will be there. It is presented by the New Orleans Mardi Gras Indian Council and festivities will feature performances by The Hot 8 Brass Band (photo left), Big “Al” Carson, Stooges Brass Band, Young Men Olympian (photo left), Lady Buckjumpers, Lady Divas, D.J. Jubilee, The Troop, BW R&B Singing Group, Joe “Cool” Davis, Captain Charles and King Fashion. Oh yeah!

Other events scheduled during the next few days include: Italian-American St. Joseph’s Day parade, French Quarter, Saturday night, March 14th; St. Patrick’s Parade, Metairie, Sunday noon, March 15th; and the Downtown Irish Club Parade, Bywater/French Quarter, Tuesday night, March 17th. 

6:30 p.m.,

