I know you all are asking the question: what are we going to see when we get to Mississippi? And the only honest answer that I have is: “I don’t know.”

I do know we are going to be working with a fervent agency in a community that is 20% back to normal in respect to housing. Think about that. What if the university housing office told 4 out of 5 of you, sorry, there’s no housing for you this year or the next or half of the third. That’s what Gulf Coast Mississippi is about.

So, it’s not the total devastation you see in much of the Lower Ninth or the relative normality of the the French Quarter. It’s going to be somewhere in between, as well as more rural and more southern than anything we’ve talked about in respect to New Orleans.

And the one thing I do know: we’ll learn a good deal from the experience.

