I am peripatetic. You guys see me pacing around the classroom. I want to be on the move. I can’t sit still. And even when I am sitting, I fidget.

But, there is something about New Orleans that makes me want to sit. And I do. Time after time.

I start off the day with a copy of the Times-Picayune at Cafe du Monde. A paper, beignets, and cafe au lait. There is no better way to start off the day than sitting along Decatur Street reading and watching as the world goes by.

After that, I might be sitting on the levee, watching barges plying the Mississippi; I can turn 180 degrees to watch the streetcars or freight trains passing by. I can sit facing the Cathedral and watch the street musicians and performers, hot dog vendors; you name it. I might be at Audubon Park observing an urban colony of egrets cover the trees in a cascade of white.

Even on the hottest day of the summer, I might be sitting under the crepe myrtles on Jackson Square, pretending to read while watching all of humanity, from profligate tourist to schizophrenic street person, walk by Andy Jackson’s statue.

Whether it is the hot/humid climate, or the people, or the spirit of the place, there is no where on God’s green earth that makes me want to sit more than New Orleans.

